Sleepy Or Wide Awake…

Awake, yet drowsy…my day began slowly and with a bit less intention then normal.

That warm cup of coffee greeted me kindly, yet I still found myself moving in slow motion.

Conversation wasn’t easy with my children, and my attempt to mediate scuffles

was lacking in zeal…

I’m tired today…more impatient…

Instead of sitting alone on mornings like this…tearing myself away from the noise, I found myself comforted by read my Bible in the comfy corner chair in my living room.

There was still the tick toc of time passing and the kids playing…

but I found myself inching closer to my Savior in the midst of the sleepy, impatient, desire to take the day off kind of morning.

Mornings such as these don’t require more sleep, (maybe a little)

more coffee,(well….maybe yes)

but for me it is a time to remember my moods…my actions and what I represent to my children.

When my children look at me,

do they see a picture that they want to appreciate, one with purpose and beauty, one that when on the wall makes the room brighter…

or is it a piece of scrambled art…nothing makes sense and you can’t make out what it’s purpose was in the first place…

This morning, tired or not…I desire to represent what Jesus calls us to do…

Love one another…

with our words…our actions…in all we are…

in our home…

getting into the Word and receiving encouragement through it’s pages…calming my heart and opening it to the refreshing of it’s Truth…bring me closer daily

to who I want to be in Him…and for my children…as we learn together daily…

what our purpose is…

Sleepy…or wide awake…

we can still grow in Him.

Leave a Reply

