Wait…

Waiting patiently has never been one of my strong suits. I can be kind to others while waiting…I am not normally rude or show ugliness…just impatient. My brain starts short circuiting and I start getting anxious and just want to get things moving.

I admit this to you because I struggle with this on a daily basis. Whether it be…waiting in line…waiting for my boys to get in the van and buckle…waiting for visitors to come…waiting on God …. I must say, I think that one is the most difficult.

I just want  things to happen and get moving…get past all the waiting….

Where do you want me God? My family? Where is our future? Where will we live…what will we do ….and see….?

I have recently seen how driven and out of control my impatience really is.

I’ve been praying that the Lord will grow me up, and replant that Fruit of the Spirit in my heart. That fruit in me has been looking a lot like the dead flowers outside sweltering in the heat of the summer.

Although I don’t know what the future holds,  I know who holds the future.

They are hands that are stronger, bigger and kinder than mine. They are hands that wait on me all the time…waiting for me to listen…waiting for the selfishness in my life to change to servanthood…waiting for me to give not only what is convienient…but to give till it hurts…teaching me to wait for those answers…and be ready to listen when the come.

Being taught patience can be painful and challenging, but I’m discovering how beautiful the process can also be. I am so thankful that God has shown me one of my major weaknesses. Seeing the beauty of life in a totally different light can be both humbling and precious.

Like those wilted flowers desperate for water, they are reclaiming their beauty with a lot of water and some miracle grow…I choose the growth and beauty that comes from patience.

Leave a Reply

