Fear Not!

I enter the room…people chatting and talking…engaging…a friendly face approaches…and then another…chatting kindly….

As I stand attempting to speak I feel my feet begin to get heavy, they feel as though they weigh 20 pounds a piece…my ankles feel as though they may give way…my hands are going numb and the room is starting to move and closing in on me…yet I am still talking…trying to..but all the time thinking…what am I going to do?

My breathing becomes fast…rapid…attempting to correct it and resolve it with a natural breath…

For the last 9 years this has been my life.

I am a very social individual, so to struggle in this area feels like complete madness…

Over the years, I’ve been able to keep my anxiety disorder at bay or limited with prayer and helpful medication, but this past week…it returned…the worst of the symptoms…in what seems as every day normal situations.

I am certain that so many reading this struggle with something similar to what I am experiencing. I do feel for you, yet I know there is still hope for healing through Christ.

I continue to claim victory over this, yet I know in my heart that the Lord can use me and grow me in my valley’s…so He can prepare me to climb the high peaks.

I am working hard to develop a scripture filled thought life and work at ending the panic before it begins. Although my symptoms are physical, I desire to prevent the aftermath of panic when those symptoms arise. I want to get control over my reaction to those symptoms that my body insists on having.

Here are some scriptures that I’ve held close to my heart and have been helpful in many ways:

I can do all things through him who strengthens me. ~Phillipians 4:13

Seek the LORD and his strength;  seek his presence continually! ~1 Chronicles 16:11

 Fear not, for I am with you;  be not dismayed,  for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you,  I will  uphold you with my righteous right hand. ~Isaiah 41:10

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?  The LORD is the stronghold of my life;  of whom shall I be  afraid? ~Psalm 27:1
 

For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power  and love and self-control.~2Timothy:7  

You are of God, little children, and have overcome them, because He who is in you is greater than he who is in the world,” 1 John 4:4

 Although times such as this can be tremendously discouraging, we are not alone…in any case…anyone…be comforted in the knowledge that the Lord knew you in your Mother’s womb…and before you were even a thought….He knows you….He loves us and we can guarantee His love strength abides with us when we ask Him for help.

Instead of getting angry or depressed about our struggles, let’s claim VICTORY in the name of Jesus!!!

2 thoughts on “Fear Not!

  1. I think I get anxious in a crowd because I feel like I’m not clever enough, intelligent enough, or funny enough to join their conversation.

Leave a Reply

