Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings Anyone?

This is my revised version of the “Cracker Barrel Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings recipe:

We have fallen in love with this meal and I tend to make it on days such as this….

cold and snowy ones…I thought I’d share some comfort food with you…

The Soup

  • 4 chicken breasts, because I prefer white meat or a 3-6 lb frying chicken or rotisserie
  •  (whichever you prefer)
  • 2 quarts water
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • ½ teaspoon pepper (I use coarse ground and double it)
  • 2- 32oz of chicken broth

The Dumplings

My boys love to pour the wheat berries into the mill…

nice fresh flour…it makes food taste so good…

2 cups freshly milled hard white flour (or all-purpose)

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

3 tbsp butter

Directions:

*I boil my chicken breast first than cut it into pieces.

*Add  2 containers (32 oz) of chicken broth to the
2 quarts of water that was used to boil the chicken
*Bring the broth to a boil and add pepper.
*In the meantime,combine the flour, baking soda,
and salt in a mixing bowl. Cut in the shortening.
*Add the buttermilk, stirring with a fork until moistened.
Mix well till dough comes together in a ball formation.
*Lay the dough out on a floured surface.
 Sometimes I add a little extra flour to the dough if it feels too sticky.
Knead the dough 4 to 5 times ,
 lay out dough so it’s about 1/2 inch thick and then cut into squares
 (some people like to pinch of pieces instead, but I like the texture
and size better when their cut).
Reduce the heat to medium-low,drop in and cook for about 8 to 10 minutes,
 stirring occasionally.
I recommend adding a little more salt and pepper after the dumplings are done.
Just do a quick taste test and see if it’s needed.
~Just a little note…some days I like to double my dumpling recipe…
I love dumplings…
so somedays I want more…I did today…I’m a carboholic,
what can I say….
*After around 10 minutes turn off pot,
give about 10 minutes to cool before serving…
then Enjoy!
My kitchen is a mess, but I am looking forward to dinner…
I hope you are too! It’s totally worth it!
 
One thought on “Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings Anyone?

Leave a Reply

