The Dilemma of Difference…

As I open my big box of next years school curriculum in great excitement, I must share something that has been on my heart and I believe necessary

to address.

While going through my teacher’s manuals and worktexts for the boys I’m reminded of the joy of homeschooling, but also the great commitment

that is made and the lifestyle change that occurs when you choose this path.

First hand I have seen the joy of other homeschooled families as well as our own here in our home.

Although this is true for our families, we can not disregard that homeschooling is not for everyone.

Much prayer and consideration went into our decision to homeschool…along the knowledge that not all friends or family

may agree with the choice made. Fully aware of this….we were alright with that and welcomed questions and

have no disagreement in scepticism or concerns…ask away I say…all I ask is that you listen to our answers…

I’ve had numerous discussions with non-homeschooling mothers, and some feel that they are looked down upon or have terrible guilt because they’ve chosen not to homeschool, and not to keep their children at home.

What needs to be remembered is that the decision they’ve made regarding their child’s education and lifestyle was their decision alone and should not produce guilt. We as homeschooling Mothers must encourage that! We must share that if that decision has been made between them, their spouse and the Lord, then guilt should not even be a part of the equation.

Some have said they felt left out of friendships because their friends have begun to homeschool and felt as though they were shut out.

I for one am guilty of not investing enough time in my non-homeschooling friendships. Although those friendships are very important to me…Our lives have become very different.

When they are home without their children…I am with my children…it  is a full-time job to homeschool and tend to our households. It seems that our working shifts tend to not match up and friend time is limited.

My biggest concern is that we as homeschoolers desperately need to attempt to bridge the gap between all sources of education.

We have kept our children home for many reasons.

Just one reason is to teach God’s love and how to minister to others.

If we shut out those who don’t live and educate as we do, and try wholeheartedly to encourage them:

1. Homeschoolers will appear unwelcoming (who wants to be around that)

2.We could lose an opportunity to share God’s love

3.Our children will miss the point completely about reaching out to others if they only play and see people who homeschool as they do.

I believe for me, Homeschooling is a calling.

A ministry in our homes, with our children and families as a whole.

Homeschooling must truly be a calling in order to be successful on the side of the parent.

Patience is not the only fruit that needs great strength is our everyday work with our children as we homeschool. So much more goes into our home education than just patience.

If you are a Homeschooling Mother, pray that the Lord would give you opportunities to be used inside and outside of your home. A ministry to share Christ with your children and others.

If you are a Mother of Public or Private schooled children…do not feel guilty if you’ve not had that tug at your heart to homeschool.

Christian Mothers as a whole are in this together.

We all want the best for our children and we believe the path we are on is where God has directed us.

Pray that the Lord continues to lead, guide and direct us as mothers. Ask the Lord how we can be more of a servant in our homes, and teach our children

how to live for Christ regarless of the avenue of education that we’ve taken.

*Guide me in Your truth and faithfulness and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; for You [You only and altogether] do I wait [expectantly] all the day long. Psalm 25:5

*I [the Lord] will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you. Psalm 32: 8

*In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths. Proverbs 3: 6

*A man’s mind plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps and makes them sure. Proverbs 16: 9

Leave a Reply

