Too Comfortable?

Looking out my window this morning the sky casts a dark hue, and there is a gentle slow rain almost dripping rather than falling from the greyness above.

Although it’s a sleepy day and I find  myself being encouraged to hibernate,  I know there is much to do.

I was reminded of yesterdays post of being a light in the darkness and not contributing to it.

At another angle of this portrait, I see trouble in becoming too comfortable and lethargic in our walk with the Lord.

I am guilty of this very thing.

There dangers of resting too long in one place…your energy can become crippled and

like our ability to walk…. our ability to walk with the Lord becomes shaky, tiresome and no longer something we can do

as easily.

I recall watching my Father walk for the first time after he had been hit by a car.

It took everything within him to move his foot a few inches across the floor…and then the other foot…and again…and again…

and eventually his ability to walk grew stronger…he became more confident in his strides…from a walker, to crutches and then a cane…he gradually gained momentum in his motions. At last the cane was tossed and only a limp left behind.

I believe we all have ventured into these areas of crippledness at times in our daily walk with the Lord.

Some days I feel as though my walk with the Lord has a limp….sometimes Im hobbling along on crutches…

I will strengthen them in the LORD and in his name they will walk,” declares the LORD Zechariah 10:12

Daily I attempt to read my Word, but admit some days I put many things before Him

Sadly my day reflects my lack of time with Him.

 And this is love: that we walk in obedience to his commands. As you have heard from the beginning, his command is that you walk in love. 2 John 1:6

That darkness in which I speak of that funnels us up inside its constant swirl of disaster

can much more easily suck us up into its very self if we aren’t armed with Gods Armor daily.

Putting Him first, relying of Him can keep us from adding to this already very spiritually sad world.

Be that light on a Hill for all to see.

Because of the service by which you have proved yourselves, men will praise God for the

obedience that accompanies your confession of the gospel of Christ, and for your generosity in

sharing with them and with everyone else. 2 Corinthians 9:13

Although I love comfort…especially on a gloomy day such as this…sitting with a blanket and a cup of coffee…

I pray I will remain constant and ever changing for Him…going against all my own desires for a comfortable existence.

To be uncomfortable…to be constantly wanting more from His word…living through His Word…

Don’t let the danger of comfort keep you from pressing on towards the goals that He has for you.

There is so much He wants us to do for His kingdom…let us be light and not be apart of the ever-present darkness.

Rather than crippling your walk with the Lord, take a daily run through His Word and He will provide the wisdom

and energy you desire for the path He has placed you on.

I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Philippians 3:14

Leave a Reply

