Don’t Be A Hidden Light…

At around 7:30 a.m Saturday morning I entered our local Panera Bread for some wonderful bagels. My family was visiting and that always gives way for a great excuse  to splurge for a special treat.

I stood only behind one person in line for a very short time. As it came my turn I noticed immediately how friendly the employees were. We chatted a bit and said good morning.
After ordering my baker’s dozen of bagels  the lady informed me that she would put my bagels into the box in order to keep track but then would slice them.
I kind of chuckled and responded that even if she forgot to slice them it wouldn’t be the end of the world and that I could slice them at home.
She smiled and said ” You wouldn’t believe how rude people can be .”

“If they think for a second that I’ve forgotten to slice them I get an ear full.” She continued” I think Sundays are my least favorite day to work, I’m not looking forward to tomorrow.”

“Really, why?” I said

“That is the day people are the meanest” she said.

“Just last Sunday there was an older gentlemen who was very unhappy with his cookies, so unhappy that he stood in line

and repeatedly banged his cookie up against the glass food case just to prove how hard the cookie was and he was irate about it”.

She then said ” I guess the “Golden Rule” doesn’t apply anymore, or even just kindness really.”

“You would think church people would be kinder than others, but often they are more demanding and rude”.

It really saddened me to hear this.

 

Although I’d worked in a Deli and dealt with human rudeness first hand,

one always leaves hope that change is possible and there are folks in the world

that still show kindness.    

Sunday’s, for true Christians is a time to refresh what we’ve been living all week. To learn and to gain knowledge from our flock leaders, and to live these lessons out everyday.

I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise will continually be in my mouth. Psalm 34:1

Unfortunately I sense with all people, including Christians a sense of entitlement.

Ugliness in words and actions do not provide a good witness.

Why would anyone desire Christ’s love if what you’re portraying is a lack of humbleness, patience and love.

No matter how frustrating your moments may be or the stress in your life is building at a rapid rate, if you are relying on Christ and depending on Him in His Word….your actions and words will

reflect His love.

1 A soft answer turns away wrath, But a harsh word stirs up anger 2 The tongue of the wise uses knowledge rightly, But the mouth of fools pours forth foolishness. Proverbs 15:1-2

Check yourself….watch your tongue…are your words lifting up others or tearing them down?

Watch your actions…are they reflecting The Fruit of the Spirit?

This is my commandment that you love one another as I have loved you Psalm 15:2

Do others see you as a Sunday Christian? As soon as you walk out those church doors are you living what you represent in Christ, or making Jesus look bad? We are called to show His love, not tarnish His name.

1 Let brotherly love continue 2 Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some have unwittingly entertained angels. Hebrew 13:1-2

 1 You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.15 Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket but on a lampstand and it gives light to all who are in the house.16 Let you light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven. Matthew 5:14-16

6 Listen, for I will speak of excellent things, and from the opening of my lips will come right things, for my mouth will speak truth,wickedness is an abomination to my lips. 8 All the words of my mouth are with righteousness, nothing crooked or perverse is on them. Proverbs 8:6-8

Don’t hide your light. Don’t allow this world to so influence your actions and words that your light is completely extinguished. NO matter the darkness around you,don’t contribute to it! Shine for Him! Shine because He loves you and wants you to love others!

2 thoughts on “Don’t Be A Hidden Light…

Leave a Reply

