Dear God…

Last night my husband was working late so for dinner it was just my 3 boys and I at the dinner table.

I asked if anyone wanted to ask the blessing for the food. My four-year old  middle son piped up

“I will ask the blessing”.

He proceeded.

“Dear God ,

Please help me to not have bad dreams,Please help me not to be bad, And please help me not to be badder, In Jesus Name

                                                            Amen.”

As he prayed a smile grazed my face at to the cuteness of his prayer.

He’d made no mention of food ( the main reason for our prayer time)and spoke only of what was on his mind and heart.

Yet the simplicity and pureness of it I envied.

Although God’s grace is free for the taking, and it is all sufficient…It seems we work so hard at proving ourselves to the Lord and trying too hard to impress Him.

Often I find we work too hard at sounding “grown-up” in our words we forget  the truth in the simplicity of  honesty when coming

before the Lord.

He already knows what’s on our hearts, he just wants to hear it from our lips.

Anytime is a good time for prayer, no matter

if you’re sitting down to eat, folding laundry or even cleaning the toilets.

Anytime is appropriate. No need for ritual or

waiting for the appropriate time or specific words.

So instead of trying to impress God with round about prayers and fancy words, ask Him to lay on your heart

what needs praying for. The simple act of listening for His Word and responding. He will give the words to speak.

*Matthew 18:1-4

“At that time the disciples came to Jesus and asked, “Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?”  He called a little child and had him stand among them.  And he said:  “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.  Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” 


*James 4:10

Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.

*Luke 18:17

I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”

Take time in the Word and ask the Lord what you can pray for. He can give us the humble heart of a child.

One thought on “Dear God…

  1. I love these thoughts from your heart. It would be so wonderful to have the heart of a child in our old, and sometimes synical ones. Love you!

Leave a Reply

