Dodging Disappointment…

As we age we gain responsibilty.

With that responsibily comes experience.

With experience comes obligations wanted and unwanted.

We are the gatekeepers of our homes, the governess of your children, and the housekeeper and cook that remains unpaid.

We desire to remain joyful, be positive, set examples for our children and others.

In the midst of all these bright and sometimes dark places we are met with the decision of how to deal with the great disappoinments of life.

Maybe someone you love and respect makes a choice that effects themself and others in a unfortunate way.

Sometimes we elevate somone so highly that when they come crashing down from the pedelstool  we’ve placed them on our hearts are broken, and then we come crashing down emotionally with them.

In this scenario of disappointment the lesson I’ve learned personally is that we should never raise somone up so highly that it’s unreasonable.

We are all people, sinners saved by grace, we are not perfect. Do not put faith in people that might be unhealthy or unrealistic.

Learning to dodge disappointment is difficult. Even so, instead of being hurt and disappointed in someone…pray for them.

One thing I learned long ago, you can trust people, but don’t put your trust in people.

Put your complete trust in the Lord!

John 14:27 (NIV) 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

As a Wife and Mother there are things that often come biting at us from all directions.

Possible feeling a disappointment in ourselves. Looking at our lives, thinking we are small and insignificant. Thinking, “All I do is change diapers, cleans toilets, do laundry, make meals….etc”.

Girlfriends! Understand…these things are SO important! NOT insignificant at all.

We are leaders! Really! Leaders!!! So Lead!!! Be strong! Not disappointed in where your life has taken you.

Don’t allow the disappointment drag you down as  you do what you were created to do!

We only get a chance to live once…don’t let the fear of failure drag you into a dark place that attempts to bring great disappointment to your life.

I’m not sure where the saying came from “Bloom where you’re planted”, but that’s exactly the point of it.

For years I lived in utter disappointment of myself…what I was…what I did..I wanted to be more…often thinking about what I would’ve been if I’d been better at something…known more…did more…I struggled with a horrible self-esteem particularly in my teen years…I know so many of you have.

When I came to the realization that “This is it”! My Life! God has given me this life to live fully…it suddenly dawned on me that my disappointment was negating my complete purpose. It was me and my mindset that was causing this great disappointment…not my life or anyone in it…I was responding in such a way that disappointment and hurt could really have been the only outcome if I hadn’t changed.

Dodge Disappointment! Know your purpose! Know that God is bigger than any hurt or disappointment.

James 1:2-4 (NIV) 2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4 Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything created to serve the Lord!

That is so much more immense than any life purpose we could come up with on our own.

When situations come your way and you feel disappointment, remember, our purpose goes far beyond the disappointments of life.

You were created to be far more than you realize.

I don’t mean in the worlds eyes. We may not walk the red carpet at an awards show for our part in child rearing or toilet cleaning, but we will certainly be rewarded by the fruits of our labor. Be pleased with the people in your life and the life Lord has given you…but only put your faith and trust in the Lord Almighty…in that …disappointment has no place.

Dodge Disappointment, You can do it!

Leave a Reply

