My Proverbs 31 Challenge Part 3

Okay my friends! So here goes! Today I had already written this ready to publish and…boom…the page went blank and all was lost! I had a moment of complete shock…please understand I don’t prewrite my blogs so I don’t remember exactly what I said. Yet I know the Lord laid it on my heart, therefore I’m going for it again=)

I decided to do one verse at a time since I had so much to say. I didn’t want to miss digging deeper in these verses that have truly touched my life!
Our verse to look at today is Proverbs 31:17

17 She girds herself with strength, and strengthens her arms.
Like so many Bible verses before I always thought this sounded pretty self explanatory.
Therefore I never really looked into what it really might mean…or could mean.
I never really knew what the word “gird” or “girds” meant, so I looked it up in the dictionary.
Gird: to encircle or to prepare for action

So if you use the definition word it could say: 
She encircles herself with strength
or
She prepares for action with strength
When I began to think about this verse more deeply I could see how it could become much more important than we realize.
When I think of how the verse says “encircles” with strength…I am taken back a moment ,watching the nurses wrap up my baby boys in a bundle right after I’d given birth. They were wrapped so tightly so that they feel more secure.
I want to be wrapped that tightly in His strength. Encircled with His strength completely. 
Totally covered with it! 
Mark 12:30
And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind and with all of your strength.
Sure it’s important to take care of one’s physical body, exercise and a healthy diet. 
Yet I know from experience, if I am not in the Bible and in prayer there is a lot I am missing. 
I exercise daily which produces more strength, but without His strength I am unable to utilize completely

my whole self.

 I’ve had those dark days where even  a good run couldn’t meet my need.
 I needed a good talk with the Lord to pull me out of that dark place, to strengthen me for the battle of life.
 Life is unpredictable, I want to go out able bodied and keen of heart,mind and soul. 

This then brings me to the definition which says: to prepare for action


I want to be ready for anything that comes my way! 
To ready myself on a daily basis with the Word of God in my hands!
The verse that comes to mind is:
Ephesians 6: 10
Finally, my Brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. 11 Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.12 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of the wickedness in the heavenly places.

Image DetailAs a wife I want to prayerfully support my husband. Whether things are going great or there are fences yet unmended, pray for your husband. He needs your prayers. Pray for Spiritual strength in his life as the head of your home. I know my husband and I don’t always agree, but when Christ is the center…He will strengthen your relationship. He can and will..Don’t let worldly desires get in the way of how God wants to strengthen and use in your marriage.


Image Detail

As a mother, to teach and lead my children from the Word. I want to prepare them for life’s battles. To strengthen their hearts. Pray for strength Mothers! We really need it! God gave you these precious children for a reason. He can provide whatever you need to protect and nurture them. Just ask!

I want to quickly just share another version of the verse from the New Living Bible, it says”

17 She is energetic and strong, a hard worker.
I desire to be that woman. To be excited about what I do, and to do it well.

Image Detail
As a wife and mother our daily tasks can become very hum drum…I want nothing more than to be ready to do tasks in my home and wherever else the Lord calls me, and to do them energetically.
Believe me! I am the first gal to raise my hand and say”I want to sit with a warm cup of coffee, and maybe even take a nap!
I see nothing wrong with that, well as long as it doesn’t go on all day!
What I do want to do is strengthen the joy and excitement in how I handle my tasks. I want to be thankful that we have dishes…even if I don’t like washing them!
Okay, I could go on forever but I will stop here!
Be strengthened this week! Ask the Lord to “encircle” you with His strength! To strengthen your arms so that you may perform the tasks of your daily life with joy!
Be strong!

Leave a Reply

