My Proverbs 31 Challenge!

http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/hub.1324331373.html

I don’t know about you, but I loathe waking earlier than then the sun. I like a leisure morning with a cup of coffee and my Bible open, and maybe some music playing in the background.. I like a late morning in my pajamas and slippers with time that stands still.

Okay…now to reality!
Three children later and a household of organizing and cleaning added to my to fast growing resume…as a “professional” (I use that word loosely) Mother, Homeschooling Mother at that, and Homemaker.

Over the years I have been convicted quite often regarding my
availability to my Lord and Savior and my Husband and Children.
Being Spiritually, Emotionally and Physically available at all times is almost virtually impossible in my book.
Thankfully there is an Awesome book written just for that very reason. A play book if you will…..

As of late I have read more about Proverbs 31, The Virtuous Wife.
So often I look at the woman described in Chapter 31 of Proverbs and I think….What? Really? Come on…(pause in disbelief)..
Is it truly possible to be a Proverbs 31 Wife?

I know that my Salvation is not about works but about my relationship with the Lord. Ephesians 2:8-9.(By Grace you have been saves through Faith…”)

Even so there is yet still an aching for something more in my life.
I have never been the kind who needs occupation to feel worth in my life. (I mean no ill towards mothers who work)
I just desire More at what I do…to be more….to require more of myself…to live as a Virtuous Wife and Mother.

Proverbs 31:10 says:


10 Who can find a virtuous wife?
For her worth is far above rubies. (WOW! I want that kind of worth and to be valued like that…)



11 The heart of her husband trusts her; So he will have no lack of gain. (Am I unconditionally loving my husband, and can he trust me with his heart. Do I value his heart and feelings? Do I give him any reason to believe I could be unfaithful? I certainly hope not.)

Proverbs 12:4 An Excellent wife is the crown of her husband, But she who causes shame is like rottenness in the bones.


Galatians 5:16 I say then: Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh.



12 She does him good and not evil, All the days of her life. (How do I talk to my husband, with respect? How do I speak about him to others? Do I lift him up or use words that might damage his reputation or scar his character?, Do I argue with him just to prove a point, just to have the last word?)


Proverbs 21:9     
It is better to live in a corner of the housetop than in a house shared with a quarrelsome wife.        

Proverbs 25:24
It is better to live in a corner of the housetop than in a house shared with a quarrelsome wife.
(This scripture is written two times in Proverbs. I think the Lord is trying to tell us something, don’t you.)

Likewise, wives, be subject to your own husbands, so that even if some do not obey the word, they may be won without a word by the conduct of their wives, when they see your respectful and pure conduct.

(I really think these verses are so important)

14 She is like the merchant ships, She brings her food from afar. ( I do know the culture and world were so different. I look at this and think….How can I save us money? Do I have a coupon for that? Going to the store isn’t quite the journey it once was for those walking on foot many miles to acquire food, but it can be an adventure of stewardship and care of finances and gathering food for the family.)

15 She also rises while it is yet night, and provides food for her household, And a portion for her maidservants.  (Let me begin by saying…waking up in the morning is a hard battle for me. I am a night owl and the words “early bird” are not often in my vocabulary. I am really working hard to change that. I want to be up and have a nice breakfast ready for my early rising husband, and children. In addition, I have no maidservants although I suppose that would be helpful! )

This is just the beginning of my Proverbs 31:10-31 challenge.
I hope it will encourage and challenge you as much as it has me.
The next blog post will pick up where I left off.

Do you find value in the way you care for your husband? Do you value your family…your home?
Come along with me on my journey as I attempt to grow into a Virtuous Woman and Wife!

Be encouraged my friends,

Leave a Reply

