Are You Protecting Your Marriage? Is it Fireproofed?

Well, I have taken a few days off from writing posts due to an ridiculously unbelieveable cough…really…was that necessary. Anyway…here I am hopefully on the mend and so glad that my husband is home after a very long 6 day day trip. Is it possible that some days are longer than 24 hours? There have been days that it truly feels like….this week felt that way.
Everyone in our home was sick at some point…and then Mommy (me of course), with very little sleep and sickness…well let’s just say…I wasn’t quite up to par.

During this past week though I put all 3 boys to bed one night at 7pm and enjoyed a few hours of sewing and viewing Fireproof. I hadn’t watched it in a few years, but I am so glad that I took the time to watch it again.
It’s helpful to watch particurally when your spouse has been out of town for a while, and you are missing them=)
I was really able to focus on how am I succeeding as a wife…or am I succeesing…really? Putting God first is the first component of a successful marriage! First and foremost!
Every morning I come out to the kitchen, make my coffee and sit down in front of my Bible. Often times as soon as I sit down the pitter pat of little feet enter the kitchen and a voice says “I’m hungry Mommy”.
Needless to say, I often have to give my Bible reading a raincheck till later in the day. Can you relate?
All of that to say, I truly think the Lord understands if we can’t read the Word first thing every day. I do like to make a practice of it because I really want Him to be the first thing that enters my mind everyday.
I want my heart guarded against the enemy and my my mind ready to make good decisions.
I can say from experience, the more my husband and I are both in the Word I find there are more challenges entering our marriage relationship.
BUT!!!! I also find we are more equiped to handle those challenges.
It’s never perfect…but we find with a perfect God….we grow closer through His forgiveness of our sins and numerous imperfections.

Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other,just as in Christ, God forgave you. ~Ephesians 4:32

We’d be first couple to admit our failings, yet we knows God’s purpose for us being united in Him goes FAR beyond anything we’ll ever understand.Pray for your marriage, for your spouse. Pray together.

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.
~ Romans 12:12


After watching “Fireproof” again this week, I was reminded….the fire’s will come…just make sure your marriage is fireproof…able to withstand the flames of ungliness in this world and the temptations that arise in our humaness.
If you are struggling in a tough marriage, or hurt deeply by your spouse…just remember….

Everything is possible for him who believes ~Mark 9:23

And a few others I’d like to share with you.

May the Lord make your love increase and overflow for eachother and for everyone else. ~ 1 Thessalonians 3:12

Read His word and fill your heart with His promises!

My God will meet all your needs according to the riches of His glory in Christ Jesus. ~Phillipians 4:19

Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. ~ Jeremiah 29:12

I can do all things through Christ who strenghens me. ~Phillipians 4:13


If you haven’t seen Fireproof, watch it! If you have….watch it again friends! It’s a great reminder to our heart in so many ways!!!!

One thought on “Are You Protecting Your Marriage? Is it Fireproofed?

Leave a Reply

